FRESH VIEWS
HOPE UNLIMITED's
FREE MINI EZINE


FRESH VIEWS MINI E-ZINE

Published monthly by Sharon Eakes, Hope Unlimited, LLC
**************************************************************** FOCUS: No Sniveling!
Discipline: Personal Mastery, Team Learning

"No Sniveling!"
Sign on Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell's desk

THOUGHTS:

I heard recently that 35% of our conversations are complaining. I'm not sure this is accurate, but it got me to thinking and listening. In short order I heard people complaining about
--> Other people
--> The weather
--> The food
--> The economy
--> Aches and pains
--> The way things are

For fun I looked up "complain" and found all these words: protest, criticize, grumple, vent, whine, whinge (my favorite), carp, nitpick and nag.

There's a lot to be said about complaining. It can be a relief to vent. It can bring people together as they commiserate. It can feel safe.

But complaining is almost always non-productive. It is born of negative energy and grows on itself. Recently I and several other people were complaining behind the scenes about an educational program we were attending. One woman suddenly said, "Let's not do this anymore. It's not helping." It was a huge relief just to stop. Because complaining quickly becomes a habit and is contagious.

COACHING TIPS -

1. Instead of complaining, suggest a solution.
2. Instead of complaining, make a request.
3. If someone complains to you, ask for a suggested solution or a request.
4. If you fall into an "ain't it awful" session, be bold and stop it.
5. If you cannot change the source of your complaint, find a way to live with it or work around it. In other words, accept it.

INVITATION:

Please join me in a telegathering Monday, June 24, at 12:00 noon EDT (11 a.m. CDT, 10 a.m. MT, 9 a.m. PDT) to explore in more depth the fine art of complaining and some alternative arts. (702) 558-4398 No need to register....just call at that time!
Reach me: 1-888-769-3494 or e-mail sharon@hopellc.com

Each month FRESH VIEWS focuses on a single topic, relates it to one of the five disciplines of a learning community, and offers a coaching tip and a follow-up telegathering. Please forward it to friends and colleagues. My purpose in writing FRESH VIEWS is to nurture, prod and encourage readers to think and talk about these topics with their families, friends and colleagues. Mine is only one view. Multiple conversations may deliver us to insights only hinted at here. Such a process sustains the vitality of learning relationships, learning families, learning organizations and learning communities.


Fresh Views E-zine Index

HOPE UNLIMITED, LLC
720 Maple Lane, Sewickley, PA 15143
TOLL-FREE: 1(888) 769-3494
FAX: (412) 741-2159
Email: hope@hopellc.com

1999-2000 HOPE UNLIMITED, LLC