FRESH VIEWS
HOPE UNLIMITED's
FREE MINI EZINE


FRESH VIEWS MINI E-ZINE

Published monthly by Sharon Eakes, Hope Unlimited, LLC
************************************************************ FOCUS: Success of an intervention
Disciplines: Personal mastery, Shared vision, Systems thinking

"The success of an intervention depends on the
interior condition of the intervenor."
William O'Brien

THOUGHTS:

What a mouthful! Still, this quote has haunted me for years, and I heard it again this year at the fabulous Systems Thinking in Action Conference. Somehow it rings true. But what on earth does it mean? What kinds of interventions? And what is the interior quality of the intervenor? Here are some of the possibilities that occur to me.

Interventions could be:
1. Leading a business or a department
2. Therapy or coaching
3. Resolving a conflict in a marriage
4. Breaking up a fight between children
5. Moving to change an ineffective process or team

Interior condition of an intervenor could mean:
1. The emotional intelligence of a leader or a coach
2. The way a person walks her talk (or doesn't)
3. The extent to which a person is open, flexible, compassionate

Reread Obrien's quote and ask yourself
--> What does this mean for me?
--> How might this play out on the national stage?
--> What are the implications for the international scene?
--> Is it always true?

INVITATION
Please join me for a 45-minute telebridge conversation to talk in more depth about this quote and its implications. Call this Friday, October 25th at 12 noon EDT (11 a.m. CDT, 10 a.m. MT, 9 a.m. PDT)
(702) 252-7102. No need to register....just call at that time!



Reach me: 1-888-769-3494 or e-mail sharon@hopellc.com

Each month FRESH VIEWS focuses on a single topic, relates it to one of the five disciplines of a learning community, and offers a coaching tip and a follow-up telegathering. Please forward it to friends and colleagues. My purpose in writing FRESH VIEWS is to nurture, prod and encourage readers to think and talk about these topics with their families, friends and colleagues. Mine is only one view. Multiple conversations may deliver us to insights only hinted at here. Such a process sustains the vitality of learning relationships, learning families, learning organizations and learning communities.


Fresh Views E-zine Index

HOPE UNLIMITED, LLC
720 Maple Lane, Sewickley, PA 15143
TOLL-FREE: 1(888) 769-3494
FAX: (412) 741-2159
Email: hope@hopellc.com

1999-2000 HOPE UNLIMITED, LLC