FRESH VIEWS
HOPE UNLIMITED's
FREE MINI EZINE


FRESH VIEWS MINI E-ZINE

Published monthly by Sharon Eakes, Hope Unlimited, LLC
************************************************************* FOCUS: Stop!

Disciplines: Personal mastery, Mental Models, Systems thinking

"I have so much to do today,
I need to meditate more than usual." Dalai Lama

THOUGHTS:

Most of us are jugglers. We juggle tasks and time, have-tos and want-tos, urgencies and emergencies, work and home, competing priorities. So many balls are in the air it is hard to focus on one. We are afraid to stop juggling for fear of getting bonked on the head by a flying ball!

COACHING TIP:

The most helpful action to help both juggling and focusing is paradoxical: Stop!

1. Stop - to reflect on who you are, who you want to be, where you are, where you want to go!

2. Stop - to get more perspective, a bigger picture, another view

3. Stop - to rest, relax, refuel

4. Stop - breathe deeply and ask yourself, "what's going on right now?"

5. Stop - doing what's unnecessary

6. Stop - to transition between activities

7. Stop - and do something totally different for a few minutes

8. Stop - and think or pray or meditate before taking action

One of the reasons coaching has become so popular is that it provides people with a regular, culturally approved time to stop and think.

Develop a habit of stopping in small ways regularly every day and every week and in big ways several times a year. Not only will your juggling and focus improve - so will your life!

INVITATION
Please join me for a 45-minute telegathering to talk in more depth about stopping...why it's important, how to do it. Call Wednesday, March 5, at 12 p.m. EDT (11:00 a.m. CST, 10:00 a.m. MT, 9:00 a.m. PST)
(1-858-300-3030, Access code: 43914). No need to register....just call at that time!


Reach Sharon: (412) 741-1709 or 1-888-769-3494 or e-mail sharon@hopellc.com. Sharon is a personal and professional coach and would be happy to offer you a complimentary session to explore the usefulness of coaching for you.

Each month FRESH VIEWS focuses on a single topic, relates it to one of the five disciplines of a learning community, and offers a coaching tip and a follow-up telegathering. Please forward it to friends and colleagues. My purpose in writing FRESH VIEWS is to nurture, prod and encourage readers to think and talk about these topics with their families, friends and colleagues. Mine is only one view. Multiple conversations may deliver us to insights only hinted at here. Such a process sustains the vitality of learning relationships, learning families, learning organizations and learning communities.


Fresh Views E-zine Index

HOPE UNLIMITED, LLC
720 Maple Lane, Sewickley, PA 15143
TOLL-FREE: 1(888) 769-3494
FAX: (412) 741-2159
Email: hope@hopellc.com

1999-2000 HOPE UNLIMITED, LLC