FRESH VIEWS
HOPE UNLIMITED's
FREE MINI EZINE


FRESH VIEWS MINI E-ZINE

Published monthly by Sharon Eakes, Hope Unlimited, LLC
*********************************************************
FOCUS: Aging Well
Disciplines: Personal mastery, Mental Models, Systems thinking

"So far - this is the oldest I've been."
George Carlin

THOUGHTS:

My dad turned 90 years old last month. We had a splendiferous celebration of his life. People came from far and wide, paying tribute to a life well lived. There was a band and a slide show. For many people my dad serves as a model of positive thinking, integrity, generosity and the value of persistent work. I got my basic ideas about management and running a business from watching him manage a robust insurance agency from an office in the back of our home.

After the celebration was over, it occurred to me that we missed a big piece. Current reality. How do you live well at age 90, when it is hard to walk because of a stroke 12 years ago, and you are legally blind? Well, here's how he does it.

1. He's interested in others.
2. He appreciates every little kindness.
3. He loves to learn, watches documentaries and Dr. Phil.
4. He loves a good joke - he laughs uproariously.
5. He's touched by a good story, and lets a tear fall.
6. He loves and appreciates my mom and says so.
7. He remembers the good times and shares them when asked.
8. He enjoys good food.
9. He doesn't whine or complain.

COACHING TIPS:
Notice that the words "love" and "appreciation" came up repeatedly in this short list. Maybe the clue to aging well is to continue to love and appreciate.

Remember the old saying, "It's never too late to have a great rest of your life."

INVITATION
Please join me for a 45-minute telegathering to talk in more depth about aging well, why it matters, how to do it. Call Monday, June 30 at 12 noon EST (11:00 a.m. CST, 10:00 a.m. MT, 9:00 a.m. PST)
(1-858-300-3030, Access code: 720720). No need to register....just call at that time!


Reach me: 1-888-769-3494 or e-mail sharon@hopellc.com I am a personal and professional coach and would be happy to offer you a complimentary phone session.

Each month FRESH VIEWS focuses on a single topic, relates it to one of the five disciplines of a learning community, and offers a coaching tip and a follow-up telegathering. Please forward it to friends and colleagues. My purpose in writing FRESH VIEWS is to nurture, prod and encourage readers to think and talk about these topics with their families, friends and colleagues. Mine is only one view. Multiple conversations may deliver us to insights only hinted at here. Such a process sustains the vitality of learning relationships, learning families, learning organizations and learning communities.


Fresh Views E-zine Index

HOPE UNLIMITED, LLC
720 Maple Lane, Sewickley, PA 15143
TOLL-FREE: 1(888) 769-3494
FAX: (412) 741-2159
Email: hope@hopellc.com

1999-2000 HOPE UNLIMITED, LLC