FRESH VIEWS
HOPE UNLIMITED's
FREE MINI EZINE


FRESH VIEWS MINI E-ZINE

FOCUS: Celebrate Differences

Disciplines: Personal Mastery, Mental Models

It is not our differences that divide us. It is our inability to recognize,
accept and celebrate those differences. —Audre Lorde

THOUGHTS

It’s been so cold here that I’ve been walking the inside track at the Y. Yesterday a young woman ran past me, so balanced and light on her feet she seemed to float. I began to notice how many different shapes people come in, and how differently we move. That prompted me to think about how many differences there are between people:

  • How we think
  • What we find easy to do
  • How we process and express emotion
  • The people we like
  • How we communicate
  • What really matters to us
  • What we find beautiful, inspiring, interesting
  • The color and texture of our skin and hair
  • What we find fun and funny

DNA evidence shows that humans differ in less than one percent of their total genetic code. So many important parts of us are the same: our need for food, water, shelter, love, belonging. This is quite amazing when you think of how much time and energy we spend reacting to differences.

What would it mean to recognize, accept and celebrate those differences, as Audre Lorde recommends?

Yolanda King, daughter of Martin Luther King, Jr. and Coretta Scott King says, “We must celebrate differences until difference doesn’t make a difference.”

COACHING TIPS

  1. Notice differences with interest and curiosity
  2. Honor differences between yourself and others
  3. Celebrate the differences
  4. Remember we’re 99% the same

INVITATION

Please join me for a 45-minute telegathering to explore celebrating differences. Call Wednesday, February 28th at noon Eastern (11:00 a.m. Central, 10:00 a.m. MT, 9:00 a.m. Pacific) 1-985-425-2620 X925 No need to register...just call at that time!


Sharon Eakes | 720 Maple Lane | Sewickley, PA 15143

Fresh Views E-zine Index

HOPE UNLIMITED, LLC
720 Maple Lane, Sewickley, PA 15143
TOLL-FREE: 1(888) 769-3494
FAX: (412) 741-2159
Email: hope@hopellc.com

1999-2000 HOPE UNLIMITED, LLC